
Welcome to Tynan's Kilkenny

Perfect Pub Atmosphere
A Truly Historic Bar
The front bar maintains the aura of an original shop-pub, such as Currans in Dingle, although it is more ornate than would be the norm with gorgeous leaded glass front windows, leather high stools, an ecclesiastically-styled tiled floor and glass double doors topped with gold lettering, leading through to the main lounge bar.
A tiled mosaic at the front entrance marks the name W.J. Darcy, which is presumably the name of the original pharmacist, although we were unable to confirm that. The beautifully tiled floor continues into the main bar. Incredibly, it is heavily sloping in parts, crumbling under the weight of over 300 years of foot-fall, which in turn leads to the granite bar counter curving downwards in one corner. Oh the perils of drinking amid Irish pub heritage! The main bar is home to this grand, brass-railed horseshoe bar, lined with further tall leather stools and shining in the warm glow of old, glass lanterns. The dark, wooden-panelled ceiling and mirrored walls capture the soft light of this larger back bar, creating a cosy atmosphere.
Excerpt taken from - https://irishpubs.ie/pub/tynes-bridge-house-bar/

History of the Bridge House
In the Medieval City of Kilkenny
Picture postcard pretty and full of character, the facade of Tynan's Bridge House Bar is an iconic sight in Kilkenny City. On the face of a 200 year-old building, the shop front is more than 100 years-old, but in recent years locals worried that it was falling into disrepair. Thanks to a conservation grant under the Historic Structures Fund, however, the facade has been renewed. Sometimes, buildings are more than just shop fronts, says Heritage Conservation Officer with Kilkenny County Council, Francis Coady.
"Tynan's is iconic. It would have been an absolute travesty to allow something like that fall into disrepair."
The building is the first in Kilkenny to avail of the pilot shop fronts scheme under the Historic Structures Fund.
Tynan's is part of a terrace of three buildings, built around 1815. The Tynan family ran the shop and lived overhead, until just over 20 years ago. The shop front is the most iconic part of the building, and that was installed around 1908. It's constructed in a subtle, classical form. The stand-out feature of the corbels are acanthus leaf and delicate flower carvings at the top and a scroll underneath.
The striking bakelite shop front with it's gold leaf lettering has also been re-cast and reinstated. Work on the name sign revealed a surprise - two earlier business signs underneath! On one the name 'Darcy' could be read, behind that was a sign with no discernable lettering but with architectural motifs.
Excerpt taken from - https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/kilkenny-city/708356/renovation-of-historic-kilkenny-city-pub-reveals-layers-of-history.html